• Our Stop

    Our Stop by Laura Jane Williams is 99c! Some readers felt it was more of a novel with strong romantic elements rather than a contemporary romance, so keep that in mind. The romance might be background to whatever the main character is going through. Have you read it?

    What if you almost missed the love of your life?

    Nadia gets the 7.30 train every morning without fail. Well, except if she oversleeps or wakes up at her friend Emma’s after too much wine.

    Daniel really does get the 7.30 train every morning, which is easy because he hasn’t been able to sleep properly since his Dad died.

    One morning, Nadia’s eye catches sight of a post in the daily paper:

    To the cute girl with the coffee stains on her dress. I’m the guy who’s always standing near the doors… Drink sometime?

    So begins a not-quite-romance of near-misses, true love, and the power of the written word.

    A fabulous feel-good romance for fans of Holly Bourne and Dolly Alderton.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Felix Ever After

    Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender

    Felix Ever After by Kacen Callender is $1.99! This is a contemporary YA novel and I’ve heard such good things. Callender is a very talented writer and has a variety of genres in their backlist.

    From Stonewall and Lambda Award–winning author Kacen Callender comes a revelatory YA novel about a transgender teen grappling with identity and self-discovery while falling in love for the first time.

    Felix Love has never been in love—and, yes, he’s painfully aware of the irony. He desperately wants to know what it’s like and why it seems so easy for everyone but him to find someone. What’s worse is that, even though he is proud of his identity, Felix also secretly fears that he’s one marginalization too many—Black, queer, and transgender—to ever get his own happily-ever-after.

    When an anonymous student begins sending him transphobic messages—after publicly posting Felix’s deadname alongside images of him before he transitioned—Felix comes up with a plan for revenge. What he didn’t count on: his catfish scenario landing him in a quasi–love triangle….

    But as he navigates his complicated feelings, Felix begins a journey of questioning and self-discovery that helps redefine his most important relationship: how he feels about himself.

    Felix Ever After is an honest and layered story about identity, falling in love, and recognizing the love you deserve.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Torn

    Torn by Rowenna Miller

    Torn by Rowenna Miller is $2.99! This is a fantasy novel with a seamstress main character. Carrie read this one and gave it a C+. The pacing was too slow for her, but it’s possible future books may pick up in momentum:

    This book is the first in a new series. It has a lot of potential – good technical writing, multiple female characters, discussion of class and class mobility, clothes porn, and more. If other books pick up the pace, it could be great, but this first book was too slow to keep me invested.

    TORN is the first book in an enchanting debut fantasy series featuring a seamstress who stitches magic into clothing, and the mounting political uprising that forces her to choose between her family and her ambitions, for fans of The Queen of the Tearling.

    Sophie is a dressmaker who has managed to open her own shop and lift herself and her brother, Kristos, out of poverty. Her reputation for beautiful ball gowns and discreetly-embroidered charms for luck, love, and protection secures her a commission from the royal family itself — and the commission earns her the attentions of a dashing but entirely unattainable duke.

    Meanwhile, Kristos rises to prominence in the growing anti-monarchist movement. Their worlds collide when the revolution’s shadow leader takes him hostage and demands that Sophie place a curse on the queen’s Midwinter costume — or Kristos will die at their hand.

    As the proletariat uprising comes to a violent climax, Sophie is torn: between her brother and the community of her birth, and her lover and the life she’s striven to build.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • The Queen of Blood

    The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst

    RECOMMENDED: The Queen of Blood by Sarah Beth Durst is $1.99! It earned an A grade from Carrie:

    It’s a beautiful and at times harrowing book that is overwhelmingly about the lives of women and their relationships to each other. Best of all, it preserves the beauty and terror of fantasy while avoiding many of fantasy’s clichés.

    An idealistic young student and a banished warrior become allies in a battle to save their realm in this first book of a mesmerizing epic fantasy series, filled with political intrigue, violent magic, malevolent spirits, and thrilling adventure

    Everything has a spirit: the willow tree with leaves that kiss the pond, the stream that feeds the river, the wind that exhales fresh snow. . .

    But the spirits that reside within this land want to rid it of all humans. One woman stands between these malevolent spirits and the end of humankind: the queen. She alone has the magical power to prevent the spirits from destroying every man, woman, and child. But queens are still just human, and no matter how strong or good, the threat of danger always looms.

    With the position so precarious, young women are chosen to train as heirs. Daleina, a seemingly quiet academy student, is under no illusions as to her claim to the throne, but simply wants to right the wrongs that have befallen the land. Ven, a disgraced champion, has spent his exclusive secretly fighting against the growing number of spirit attacks. Joining forces, these daring partners embark on a treacherous quest to find the source of the spirits’ restlessness—a journey that will test their courage and trust, and force them to stand against both enemies and friends to save their land. . . before it’s bathed in blood.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

Don’t want to miss an ebook sale? Sign up for our newsletter, and you’ll get the week’s available deals each Friday.

By posting a comment, you consent to have your personally identifiable information collected and used in accordance with our privacy policy.

↑ Back to Top