Cozy Mysteries, Contemporaries, & More

  • The Silence of Bones

    RECOMMENDED: The Silence of Bones by June Hur is $2.99! Ellen reviewed this one in September and gave it an A:

    I thought this book was amazing. I loved the prose, the characters, the mystery, and the setting. From a craft perspective I found this book masterful, and it took me on an intense emotional journey. I think this is a literal must-read for historical mystery fans provided they do not mind some violence.

    June Hur’s elegant and haunting debut The Silence of Bones is a bloody YA historical mystery tale perfect for fans of Kerri Maniscalco and Renee Ahdieh.

    I have a mouth, but I mustn’t speak;
    Ears, but I mustn’t hear;
    Eyes, but I mustn’t see.

    1800, Joseon (Korea). Homesick and orphaned sixteen-year-old Seol is living out the ancient curse: “May you live in interesting times.” Indentured to the police bureau, she’s been tasked with assisting a well-respected young inspector with the investigation into the politically charged murder of a noblewoman.

    As they delve deeper into the dead woman’s secrets, Seol forms an unlikely bond of friendship with the inspector. But her loyalty is tested when he becomes the prime suspect, and Seol may be the only one capable of discovering what truly happened on the night of the murder.

    But in a land where silence and obedience are valued above all else, curiosity can be deadly.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • The Hating Game

    The Hating Game by Sally Thorne

    RECOMMENDED: The Hating Game by Sally Thorne is $3.99! Not a huge fan of the movie tie-in cover. For those who watched, what did you think of the movie? Sarah really loved this one:

    If your reading catnip, like mine, includes a blend of dialogue that cracks with intensity and emotion, cranky, stoic heroes with hidden, squishy depths, and vivid, self-assured heroines who take exactly zero crap from said hero, you should find yourself a copy of this book.

    Debut author Sally Thorne bursts on the scene with a hilarious and sexy workplace comedy all about that thin, fine line between hate and love.

    Nemesis (n.) 1) An opponent or rival whom a person cannot best or overcome.
    2) A person’s undoing
    3) Joshua Templeman

    Lucy Hutton has always been certain that the nice girl can get the corner office. She’s charming and accommodating and prides herself on being loved by everyone at Bexley & Gamin. Everyone except for coldly efficient, impeccably attired, physically intimidating Joshua Templeman. And the feeling is mutual.

    Trapped in a shared office together 40 (OK, 50 or 60) hours a week, they’ve become entrenched in an addictive, ridiculous never-ending game of one-upmanship. There’s the Staring Game. The Mirror Game. The HR Game. Lucy can’t let Joshua beat her at anything—especially when a huge new promotion goes up for the taking.

    If Lucy wins this game, she’ll be Joshua’s boss. If she loses, she’ll resign. So why is she suddenly having steamy dreams about Joshua, and dressing for work like she’s got a hot date? After a perfectly innocent elevator ride ends with an earth shattering kiss, Lucy starts to wonder whether she’s got Joshua Templeman all wrong.

    Maybe Lucy Hutton doesn’t hate Joshua Templeman. And maybe, he doesn’t hate her either. Or maybe this is just another game.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • The Secret, Book & Scone Society

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society by Ellery Adams

    The Secret, Book & Scone Society by Ellery Adams is $1.99! This is book one in a cozy mystery series of the same name. I will gripe that the inconsistent use of the Oxford comma in both the book description and series name, but not the title irks me.

    From New York Times bestselling author Ellery Adams comes the first in an intriguing new series set within a quirky small-town club where the key to happiness, friendship—or solving a murder—can all be found within the pages of the right book. . .

    Miracle Springs, North Carolina, is a place of healing. Strangers flock here hoping the natural hot springs, five-star cuisine, and renowned spa can cure their ills. If none of that works, they often find their way to Miracle Books, where, over a fresh-baked “comfort” scone from the Gingerbread House bakery, they exchange their stories with owner Nora Pennington in return for a carefully chosen book. That’s Nora’s special talent—prescribing the perfect novel to ease a person’s deepest pain and lighten their heaviest burden.

    When a visiting businessman reaches out to Nora for guidance, she knows exactly which novels will help. But before he can keep their appointment at Miracle Books, he’s found dead on the train tracks.

    Stunned, Nora forms the Secret, Book, and Scone Society, a group of damaged souls yearning to gain trust and earn redemption by helping others. To join the society, members must divulge their darkest secret—the terrible truth that brought each of them to Miracle Springs in the first place.

    Determined to uncover the truth behind the businessman’s demise, the women meet in Nora’s cramped and cozy bookstore to share stories and trade support. And as they untangle a web of corruption, they also discover their own courage, purpose, and a sisterhood that will carry them through every challenge—proving it’s never too late to turn the page and start over. . .

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Yes & I Love You

    Yes & I Love You by Roni Loren

    Yes & I Love You by Roni Loren is $3.03 at Amazon and $3.99 elsewhere! This is a contemporary romance by one of my absolute favorite authors. I remember hearing Loren discuss this book at the last RWA that was held in New York. The heroine has Tourette’s Syndrome and social anxiety, and Loren also mentioned her (Loren’s, not the heroine) son has a tic disorder. Have you read this one?

    A beautifully emotional new contemporary romance from New York Times and USA Today bestseller Roni Loren.

    Everyone knows Miz Poppy, the vibrant reviewer whose commentary brightens the New Orleans nightlife. But no one knows Hollyn, the real face behind the media star…or the fear that keeps her isolated. When her boss tells her she needs to add video to her blog or lose her job, she’s forced to rely on an unexpected source to help her face her fears.

    When aspiring actor Jasper Deares finds out the shy woman who orders coffee every day is actually Miz Poppy, he realizes he has a golden opportunity to get the media attention his acting career needs. All he has to do is help Hollyn come out of her shell…and through their growing connection, finally find her voice.

    Add to Goodreads To-Read List →

    This book is on sale at:

    As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.

    We also may use affiliate links in our posts, as well. Thanks!

  • Leave a Comment